cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help w/ BIOS config for booting M8R into W7 on a M.2 NVMe SSD

sl
Level 7
Hello all

I'm a beginner having trouble with a brand new system, staring at mobo connections, then BIOS settings, then finding a way to do an UEFI install for Windows 7 Pro on my Samsung Pro 950.

I've eventually accomplished all that, but my system is incredibly unstable at all levels:
- in BIOS, I sometimes get freezes at various points
- when installing low level drivers from the mobo DVD, half the time it crashed. I finally figured out the most reliable way to do it was chipset, then USB, then Intel ME, then LAN - skip the rest!
- in Windows, the PC keeps running as long as I don't touch anything, but just trying to install something, including a windows update has a 50/50 chance of BSOD.

The current state of the system is that Windows 7 Pro is installed in UEFI mode on the SSD and it does boot - usually. I managed to get rid of all errors in device manager by installing the relevant drivers from the mobo DVD, and current versions of Firefox and Avira. I have internet access, but doing anything over the network is extremely fragile. Also I've detached the LAN cable for most of the time because I couldn't get any windows updates to install. Some of the instability may be due to the latter, but I would prefer addressing the low level issues first.
Also I should mention that I didn't get the system to even start into BIOS with the factory installed BIOS. I had to flash the most current (1302) just to get the system up and running. Later I downgraded to 1202 because with 1302 I had constant crashes right in BIOS. With 1202, those crashes are mostly gone.

System specs:
motherboard: Maximus VIII Ranger; BIOS 1202
case: Corsair 780T big tower
PSU Corsair RM 1000
CPU: Intel 6700K 4000MHz
Cooler: Corsair H90i
RAM: HyperX Black Fury DDR4 4x4GB 2666MHz
SSD: Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB, M.2
SSHD: Seagate Desktop SSHD 4000GB