cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GL502VM Touchpad failed and plastic housing slowly drooping

EnixGamer
Level 7
Hello, I have this laptop model since march of this year (barely 6 months) and usually use USB mouse for gaming. I have been gaming on it since I bough it, keeping the temperature under 75c with turbo boost off and Intel XTU undervolted, so far so good. I WAS happy with it.

However just 2 days ago I decided to take it out and use it outside. I noticed 2 things since the last time I used it outside it's cooling pad:

- The touchpad is dead.. Since I'm a system administrator for a living I went with all the driver swap/installs and even full windows/linux installs to see if it was a software issue only to find out that the touchpad is not even working inside the UEFI bios.. (I even downgraded bios with no luck) it's DEAD out of nowhere, just staying on my cooling pad for 5 months it JUST DIED.

- The entire plastic shell slightly drooped. It's not noticable if you look at it directly but if you look at the laptop from profile view you can tell that where it get's the hottest (top right corner) is slightly more elevated than the places it's cold (near bottom left, where the wasd area) It has been a hot summer but cmon.. keeping the entire laptop under 75c and getting plastic morph due to heat IS RIDICULOUS for a "gaming" laptop that people even happily run at 85-90c.. Again it's hard to tell, many peole might never even noticed it, but I sure did because I'm a perfectionist that likes to keep things like new and this type of issue over time could result in physical damage of motherboard due to bending.