cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ROG G751JY repaste

Cannon_19
Level 9
I noticed my laptop was getting quite hot recently, and checked the temperature with some stress test.
CPU goes as high as 96 degrees celsius, while GPU hits 87/88 degrees and throttles.
So I pretty much have to open it up and clean/repaste everything at this point, been 1.5 years since the last time anyway.
But I've never done it myself before, so I need some guidance.
Which termal paste would work the best for this model? I've seen a number of people complainig about kryonaut and mx-4 drying up quickly.
Also, apparently I need to get thermal pads as well for some stuff. How thick should they be and which ones should I get? Frankly I'm not even sure where I need to use them.
I found this picture for another laptop that uses the same gpu (gtx 980m):

But it looks a bit different on this model:

I really need help with this.
Thanks in advance!
7 REPLIES 7

andreacos92
Level 9
With my G751JY, in these years, I used MX-4, IC Diamond and now I have Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut (repasted a month ago).
I had no problems with all of them and they are quite good in thermal performance.

Regards the GPU VRAM and VRMs, Asus used thermal paste and I suggest you to do the same.
I tried using 1.0 mm thermal pads, but I had the impression that the gap was so small that the pads thickness prevent the right contact between GPU die chip and the copper heatsink.
Maybe you can try with 0.5 mm thermal pads, I think they should work quite well.

andreacos92 wrote:
With my G751JY, in these years, I used MX-4, IC Diamond and now I have Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut (repasted a month ago).
I had no problems with all of them and they are quite good in thermal performance.

Regards the GPU VRAM and VRMs, Asus used thermal paste and I suggest you to do the same.