cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

X670E-E wont post/boot reliably.

dark_water_
Level 7
Hey all,

I built this PC in December as a novice, after saving for a "dream computer." The dream didn't materialize. I am not an expert, or even moderately knowledgeable person, when it comes to PC building, so please be patient while reading:

I have been experiencing this problem continuously until the latest BIOS flash which aggravated the problem more severely. Previous, 3 power cycles would result in a successful boot. This is no longer the case, as of the latest BIOS update.

Description of problem:

When booting from a cold/dark state, the PC hangs while posting. A motherboard Q-Code of "00" displays with a constant yellow DRAM D-light. The only option is to recycle the power. perhaps 25% of the time the system will then cycle and boot into windows without further issue. The other 75% of the time, the system will post into safe mode. No changes will be made to the bios, and a save/restart results in a boot to windows 25% of the time (again.) The other 75% of the time it results in a restart with code 00 as listed above.

after the latest Bios update, I now receive Q-code 36, with a CPU (RED) LED light after the computer restarts from posting in safe mode.

I generally power-cycle the system until I am able to hit the normal-boot jackpot.

Fixes attempted:

-deselect EXPO I/II. -Deselected AI Overclocking -Memory Diagnostic tool finds no memory faults. -CMOS reset. -Swapped position/re-seated the 2 ram modules physically -Updated BIOS -Heavy Swearing -Crying into my hands in frustration after spending thousands on a PC at micro-center that I can only use when the gods decide.

I am in way over my head here, so I am just reaching out to the community for any support you might be able to offer. Thanks in advance.

System Components:

Case: Fractal Meshify 2

PSU: Corsair HX1200

Operating system: Microsoft Windows 11 Pro (10.0, Build 22621)