cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble overclocking

cheeftain
Level 7
I'm new to overclocking so some help would be much appreciated. I'm using a TUF Z590 Plus motherboard and i9-11900KF I watched this video to learn https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTb-KmUa6rI&t=1811s
In the video his Core Speed in CPUZ stays at whatever he sets it too in the bios even while idle. When I do the same mine drops down to 3500mhz unless there is a load, then it increases to the overclock speeds I've set. When I tried to disable Intel Speed Shift it won't even budge past 3500 mhz even under load. I'm mainly using the computer for music production so I don't want the core speed fluctuating.
6 REPLIES 6

Nate152
Hi cheeftain,

Welcome to the ROG forum !

When overclocking the cpu, you need more voltage which generates more heat. Your cooling and cpu temps will determine how far you can overclock.

I'm on an older z270 motherboard and unles it's changed, you should be able to get the cpu to run at a constant speed by setting the windows power plan to high performance.

Here's a video to show how clock speeds hold steady at the maximum boost clock of 4.5GHz (4500MHz). You'll have to unhide the windows high performance power plan.

Nate152 wrote:
Hi cheeftain,

Welcome to the ROG forum !

When overclocking the cpu, you need more voltage which generates more heat. Your cooling and cpu temps will determine how far you can overclock.

I'm on an older z270 motherboard and unles it's changed, you should be able to get the cpu to run at a constant speed by setting the windows power plan to high performance.

Here's a video to show how clock speeds hold steady at the maximum boost clock of 4.5GHz (4500MHz). You'll have to unhide the windows high performance power plan.

Throttle Stop fixed the issue! Thanks

cheeftain
Level 7
NVM, figured out how to fix the problem using throttle stop. 😄

Nate152
Awesome,