cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am new to overclocking and Im looking for help

blazinblevins
Level 7
Hello everyone,

I am new to overclocking so please forgive me if I don't explain things correctly, I am doing my best.

I have an 8700k paired with a Maximus X Hero wifi board and keeping this system cool are two rads and 5 noctua fans. When I was planning this build my goal was 5Ghz or higher. Well I managed to get 5.1 Ghz at 1.25 volts with average CPU temps reaching 53-58 degrees according to Speccy. I followed this video to achieve this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoUtA7DKXhU&t=4s

I would like to learn more about overclocking and how the different settings for my board work together. I want to push this as hard as I can. I did notice something that was concerning though. Core 0 ran 10 degrees higher than the other cores. Is this normal? Can this be addressed in the bios? Any help would be appreciated.

BTW i use this build for gaming and streaming from one system.

Thanks
5 REPLIES 5

BigJohnny
Level 13
Were all new to OC. Been at it awhile and learn something newe all the time.

Core spread is going to happen. 10C is a bit wide for 53.58C which is nowhere close to hitting what Im comfortable with. Altough thermal throttling doest happen until 105-110 depending on the chip according to intel when you pass 80C the life of the processor begins to degrade.

What Rads?
What block?

Video is OK bit two things I disagree with. Dont enable XMP until you get your CPU to where you want it and set the VCCIN to like 1.7 to 1.9 max, never more. You dont want to leave that in auto or you get power spikes.

The only way to knock a core temp down from the others in the BIOS is to do OC by core which takes longer but that would equate to that core being pushed less, assigning it a lower frequency and lower Vcore.