cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help me choose an Asus - Graphic designer

MistressFu
Level 7
I need help. I am buying a new laptop for the first time in 5 years. I know what I want my laptop to do, but I have no idea what I need in order to do it. I was hoping I could get some fact and experience-based opinions from your community. As a graphic design student society leads me to believe I should bust out several thousand for a Mac but I can't help but feel I can get more for my money with a Windows computer.

-I want a laptop. Since I am a student I want my work portable.
-I am a Graphic Design major. I need to be able to do Web Design, see high resolution images, save large video and image projects...
-I do Childrens' book writing and illustration.
-I would like to run games such as Skyrim and Minecraft on high quality without lag.
-I would like a laptop that is known to last, able to upgrade, and replace parts, I would like value for my money.
-I have around a $1,500 budget.

I got some hands on with a G75VW-TS71 and thought it was beautiful but is it a look in the right direction?
2 REPLIES 2

xeromist
A 17" machine is not very portable for a student. They are big desktop replacements. I had a 15" machine in school and even that was a challenge to find enough room for it + textbook on a desk or table. The G55 is the 15" version of the G75 so I would recommend that first. In terms of upgrade and replace it is accessible for storage and memory but not designed for replacement of the CPU & GPU.
A bus station is where a bus stops. A train station is where a train stops. On my desk, I have a work station…

X-ROG
Level 15