cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help..! Formula Z and the mystery of the vanishing SATA II Samsung F3's

mooncat
Level 7
Hi Guys, noob here, just upgraded my rig to a Formula Z, FX8350, hyper 212 cooler, 16gb Corsair 1600, HD 7970. 2x 1G Samsung F3, 1 x 3Gb barracuda, 1x 128gb SDD

I did a fresh install of win 7, bios initially overwhelmed me but took the stock settings and installed everything.

All was ok but took the usual action to grab the latest bios from asus an installed it.

It was then when in windows I noticed my two Samsung drives were missing (gone...) not under disk manger or anything?
Reboot into the bios... nothing? they were not listed just my barracuda, my SDD and my DVD drive..
took machine to bits, messed around with cables (changed all SATA cables) even messed around with power, but nothing, they just would not show in the bios. (panicking as this point as one is my documents drive (all my photos for ever of my children and family since the dawn of digital photography) the other is the backup of that drive... aghhh, nearly in tears at this point..
Then I booted windows, said installing drives and low and behold they were back? odd.. checked they are not shown in the bios but appear in windows?
I then discover if I run any of the ROG utils to mod the bios, fan control anything... the drives disappear again. The only way I seem to be able to get them back it to reset the CMOS, change the cables around so they are on different ports, they still don't show in the bios but low and behold, installing drivers they appear in windows..

What is going on here...?

The only thing I can figure is these are SATA II (3gb) but I would have thought he 6gb SATA ports on the board would be backward compatible? Is this an issue with the drive firmware? Issue with the bios? any thoughts whats going on.