cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

9590 overclock core speed droop.

TheOnlyDoor
Level 7
I'm hoping some one with some knowledge can help me with this.
I have some basic experience overclocking. I was able to get my 8350 to a P95 stable 4.6 by tweaking DIGI settings, voltage, etc.
I now have a 9590 and was hoping to get it to at least 5ghz stable. So I went through the normal tweaking process that I had done with my 8350. (I was using the M5a99x evo R2.0 for the 8350, am using the Formula-Z for the 9590).
I started by setting core speed to a solid 4.7 (23.5), turned off turbo core, bumped my memory freq. to 1866, but did not touch anything else, left everything else on Auto.
Prime 95'd just fine...so 4.7 is perfectly stable. Got my first P95 error at 4.8 with all the same settings listed above. So I decided to start tweaking voltage, LLC, etc just like I had with my 8350.
However now, even if I don't get any Illegal sumouts on P95 and even if my temps are below 55c I notice in CPUZ that my core speed will droop from 4800 down to 1400mhz during P95. It will sit there for 10-15 seconds then go back up to 4800. It does this off and on the whole time I'm Priming.
Yes Apm,C6, turbo core, etc are ALL disabled. Again, so no P95 errors when this happens but I'm sure the core speed should not be drooping intermintently like this. Must have somthing ro do with voltage being taken off auto or the DIGI settings.
Any thoughts?
Thanks in advance.
3 REPLIES 3

MeanMachine
Level 13
Hi TheOnlyDoor
Yes the 9590 is a different beast in terms of temperature. I have a slightly larger Cooler which copes but yours should be OK.
First you need to establish if it is heat related, As you are stable at 4.7GHz and seems to be throttling at 4.8GHZ.
I originally had the same issue and found P95 which is too harsh IMO for extended periods, and I could only pass two cycles on Small FFT.