cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MEI Firmware update

DosKeeper
Level 8

Greetings!

I’m new to ASUS forums and I’m happy to be here among the tech savvy people! My new rig is powered by Z790 Apex and after finishing the build, I have updated the bios to version 0812. However, I’ve forgotten to update the MEI driver and MEI firmware, therefore my MEI driver version is at 2204.2.62.0 (seems really old) and firmware at 16.1.25.1917. I’ve found out recently that you’re supposed to update MEI definitions before doing the BIOS update, but unfortunately that part ended up being overlooked. I want to update the MEI definitions now, but I would like to ask some questions first to ensure everything goes well. I know this has been covered before, but I’m still confused.

1. The Apex has a dual bios, so am I right to assume that updating MEI firmware only affects the current bios?
  2. Should I disable XMP before updating the firmware?
  3. I am instructed to update the firmware to version 16.1.25.2020 for the 0812 bios. Should I use the latest MEI drivers (V2240.3.4.0(SW 2242.3.34.0)) or an older version (V2220.3.1.0(Package V2225.3.9.0))?
  4. Is the Chipset Software Installation Utility independent from MEI? What does it do exactly?
  5. I believe I should first install MEI drivers, then firmware and lastly the chipset utility, right? Speaking about the latter, how can I check what version I’m running now?

I’m not new to building and setting up computers, but this new process made me really confused. Would really love to hear input from John!

Thank you in advance!

7 REPLIES 7

Hopper64
Level 15

1. Right. FW update affects on the bios you are currently on. If you want to do both you have to switch to the second bios.