cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will this RAM work in my system?

pygmalion
Level 7
Hello,

I currently have an ASUS ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING motherboard with 64gb of Corsair RAM inside.

I am a 3D artist and am finding this is not enough, so I am thinking of purchasing this RAM from Corsair.

https://www.corsair.com/ww/en/Categories/Products/Memory/Vengeance-RGB-PRO-SL-Black/p/CMH128GX4M4E32...

However, the RAM is newer than the motherboard and, thus, has yet to be tested and added to the QVL list.

Can anyone confirm if this RAM will work in my system?

Thanks!
5 REPLIES 5

ahfoo
Level 13
Hi mate. You may write to Corsair and Asus for further clarification to confirm it. But why you need to change your current 64gb ram?

ahfoo wrote:
Hi mate. You may write to Corsair and Asus for further clarification to confirm it. But why you need to change your current 64gb ram?

I will do just that then.

I need to change it because 64GB isn't enough with some of the high-poly scenes and animations I'm working with in C4D, AE and other programmes. AE especially runs happier with more than 64GB.

For a better chance your RAM kit will be compatible with the motherboard, it's best to select a kit from the motherboard QVL that have been tested and known to work. Due to the amount of new RAM released into the market each month, so it's also important to ensure your Bios is up to date.

Your Memory QVL depends on if your CPU is first or second gen Ryzen.

Here is the link to your support page: https://www.asus.com/au/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-B450-F-GAMING/HelpDesk_QVL/

To help you understand the nomenclature of RAM kits, here is a post by raisonjohn and is very helpful in terminology.
Go here: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-3506026/meaning-ram-product-item-numbers-codes.html