cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm new to an Asus Z690 Extreme Motherboard with a few Question

PuweY
Level 7
Hi Guys,
it's my first build with an Asus z690 Extreme Motherboard and I have a few Questions about testing some things.

Question 1: is there any method to factory reset the Motherboard ( BIOS Update not included ) inclusive RGB Colors, Symbol on LED Header etc..?? or is the CMOS Button the only solution?

Question 2: is it totally fine if I install missing drivers after a fresh Windows Installation through Device Manager by searching drivers from the supplied USB Driver Stick? ( I don't want to install Armory Crate or install missing drivers with Setup.exe Files except my dedicated Sound+Graphics Card )
Every Port just works fine after just a fresh Windows Installation, I just want to remove some unknown Devices from Device Manager which weren't updated through Windows Update. I mean I tested it, and it worked, but I don't know if it has any Downsides and I really don't need "for example" the complete Realtek Driver Sound Package, because I have a dedicated Creative Soundcard.

Question 3: if I reset all settings in the Bios to custom Defaults, I recognized that the Boot Option won't change to default, what also made me wonder, because at Default Settings I had "Another OS" set up instead of "UEFI". Are really ALL Settings back on default, or are there any other settings in the BIOS that don't switch to custom default, even if you CMOS the Board?

Now my MAIN PROBLEM Questions: