cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First Time Poster ... Would Like Build Advice, Comments, and Suggestions

Diversemanx
Level 7
Hello !! Although I have been surfing this ROG forum for quite some time, this is my very first post here. I am a 62 year old 50% disabled Vietnam veteran and am going to build a new computer very soon. I have never built a new computer from scratch before, but I have replaced every single component in my old system at least once, including motherboard, power supply, cpu and heatsink, ram, graphic cards, hard drives, and DVD/CD burners. I feel confident that I can successfully build a new system and will be using guidelines for the build that are on this forum.

... I would very much like your advice, comments, and suggestions on the components I have currently selected for this build ... 🙂

... Budget: $2000 to $2500 U.S. dollars for base system only. My old computer is a very old 2003 Win XP system built around an ASUS A7N8X motherboard. For the time being I will be using my existing Acer 22 inch side monitor, Samsung 46 inch 3D HDTV with HDMI v1.4 inputs, Microsoft USB 2.0 wired keyboard, Logitech USB 2.0 powered wireless laser mouse, HP USB 2.0 powered printer, and Klipsch analog 2.1 speakers. At some point I will be purchasing a high quality 27 or 30 inch IPS monitor, a USB 3.0 flash drive, and a USB 3.0 external hard drive.

Main uses of intended build:

[1] Right now I only play one 3D "game" and it is Second Life. I actually make a few bucks within this "game" building in the 3D virtual world environment and selling my works within it. I have been actively playing this since 2007. Second Life does not do SLI very well if at all. The concensus of the Second Life forums is to buy the single best graphics card I can afford.
[2] I play correspondence chess from time to time and use Fritz chess playing software to analyze positions.