cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VIII Dark Hero and drivers question

louiscar
Level 7
Hi all,

I just want to understand a few things as I have no experience with Windows 10 and AMD. I had started a build with an Intel board and Win 10 but decided as this was a couple of gens ago, it bought the Dark Hero and 5900x.
Beauty of not having got to load drivers in I was able to transfer my Windows boot drive over without any problems.

So notably Windows 10 is quite happy with finding drivers for this board but the advice I want is are these found from an Asus source and more importantly what do I gain by installing the specific drivers.

What do people recommend to install for this board as a minimum or as a recommended set and if you can tell me why. Eg. motherboard / sound / network etc? ... Also anything to do with Asus' own utils, OC - (not looking for ground breaking oc but reasonable)
8 REPLIES 8

Nate152
Hi louiscar

Windows 10 installs all the necessary drivers.

Depending on your headset, you'll want to install either the Realtek audio driver or Armoury Crate.

Then update the graphics driver and that's pretty much it.

Get all motherboard drivers from the ASUS Support Center.

https://rog.asus.com/motherboards/rog-crosshair/rog-crosshair-viii-dark-hero-model/helpdesk_download

You can check Device Manager for any missing drivers.

Nate152 wrote:
Hi louiscar

Windows 10 installs all the necessary drivers.

Hi Nate52
So unlike previous Windows where it would install basic drivers there is no disadvantage to the ones that Windows installs?

Nate152 wrote:

Depending on your headset, you'll want to install either the Realtek audio driver or Armoury Crate.

So this confuses me a bit "depending on headset". I thought the Realtek drivers were also put in by Win 10 as I think the sound works (haven't checked)
But I was unsure what Armoury Crate actually did. Does this also give me control of the fans and any rgb on the motherboard ?