cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CPU upgrade... Threadripper should be called Hair ripper

segfaulted
Level 7
First post, be gentle? 🙂

Debated writing this at all because on one hand I view it as free tech support and thus reward for bad behavior. On the other, people should really be warned.

First, to be clear I'm not an electrical engineer, nor do I follow the myriad of forms online surrounding hardware in general. Quite frankly I find many of them to be filled with more trolls / marketing people ready to pounce on newbs, then actually helpful. On with it though...

I bought into Threadripper not to necessarily be the fastest, but on par with Intel for quite a bit less. The workloads I throw at it scales for the most part already and I'm quite aware of NUMA, scheduling, etc... I needed more cores, pure and simple. Since it was an entirely new platform I expected some churn and costs. What I wasn't expecting was feeling like a beta test drone for hardware that costs several thousand between CPU, Memory, Board, etc. In the end, I ended up with:

- Swapping 3 power supplies
Currently on using a fraction of a 1.5kW EVGA PSU as it got rid of coil whine on the 1080s

- Swapping 2 montherboards, owning two
By far the biggest headaches came from this. Replaced two Gaming 7 boards before giving up/in to the Zenith Extreme.

Getting bit by what I'm finding are bugs other people have noticed like the HPET timer (seriously, wtf?) - that alone wasted about a week of testing as it was randomly affecting VMs. Latest issue is the board doesn't appear to support two 1080TI's. When I try both of them it throws up an error 82 - VGA BIOS Load Fail? Individually both cards work!