cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Z370-I 2 fans connected to AIO Pump ramp up often and at higher RPM

Gibbs
Level 7
Bear with me, I'm a first time builder still getting the hang of things following a rather tough build experience.

Build:
Asus Rog Strix Z370-I
i7 8700k
Rog Strix 2080

I have 2 fans connected to the AIO pump connector on the motherboard. Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM and a NF-A8 PWM using the supplied Y splitter that came with the fans.

I've set the AIO Pump to PWM mode as recommended in some posts following some research. The fans connected to the AIO Pump connector seem to run about 200-300 RPM higher than the fans connected to the CPU and chassis fan connectors. During light computer use like browsing on chrome the fans connected to the pump connector ramp up and down very often and are louder than all the other fans. This gets quite annoying and leads me to the following questions:

1) How can I bring down the RPM of the fans connected to the AIO pump connector to match the RPM of the other fans?
2) How can I stop the fans from ramping up and down so much during normal computer use?
3) Is it possible to control the fans connected to the AIO Pump connector?

Using the Q-Fan tool I've set the CPU to silent mode and the Chassis to standard.
3 REPLIES 3

GotKevlar
Level 7
Gibbs wrote:
Bear with me, I'm a first time builder still getting the hang of things following a rather tough build experience.

Build:
Asus Rog Strix Z370-I
i7 8700k
Rog Strix 2080

I have 2 fans connected to the AIO pump connector on the motherboard. Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM and a NF-A8 PWM using the supplied Y splitter that came with the fans.