cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maximus XI Formula OLED Burn-In

Zammin
Level 9
Hi everyone

Just a warning to owners of this motherboard or any other ASUS LiveDash product that uses an OLED display, if you leave it on a hardware monitor or any other setting where there is static text, over time it will cause burn-in. I knew this was an issue with larger color OLED displays like TVs for example, but I hadn't realised that really small, basic, black and white OLED displays like this are affected as well.

I realised today when I finally had a go at uploading my own animated GIF to display on the LiveDash and I can still see the words "CPU Voltage" and the outline of the numbers below as a dark outline on top of the animation. I had been using the CPU voltage readout for around 6 months prior to this. When the system is turned off it runs the standard "FORMULA" animation.

I find this very annoying and yet another problem with this expensive motherboard. I tried googling the issue and nothing came up specific to ASUS LiveDash displays. So I thought I should post a warning for any owners of LiveDash equipped motherboards and AIOs.

If anyone form ASUS is reading this it wouldn't hurt to put a warning in either the manual or the LiveDash software stating that static text and images can lead to burn in over time.
6 REPLIES 6

SentineL_VDXi
Level 7
Thanks for the Info! Didn't think about that
ASUS Products: Maximus X Formula - RT-AC87U/AC88U

BroPhilip
Level 7
Agreed, My on the Rampage Extreme has the same issue. It is such a shame, Mine has dimed as well, so I just leave it off and use it only for post codes

BroPhilip wrote:
Agreed, My on the Rampage Extreme has the same issue. It is such a shame, Mine has dimed as well, so I just leave it off and use it only for post codes

How do you turn it off and only for POST codes?*

rckrz6
Level 7