cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help me OC my 8700k to 5ghz for a noob

KillaBandit
Level 7
Here is my build below. I would like to see 5ghz. I have tried, and seen them core temps hit 100c with maximum heat test of prime95, and backed off. That was when I tried 1.35v and watching a youtube video discussed here before with settings. I am running at stock and 1.25v right now and stable to keep it cool till I figure this out. I know the Asus boards have a tendency to push too much V through the memory and cpu. So would like to get 5ghz, and have it not so hot either if thats possible. I am not delid. XMP is enabled for 3200.

Since I am a noob, and not very good with Asus boards, please tell me where to go to adjust the settings and what to adjust too.

CPU-Z validate. https://valid.x86.fr/levw0v

PCPartPicker part list: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/QYDXP3 Price breakdown by merchant: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/QYDXP3/by_merchant/

CPU: Intel - Core i7-8700K 3.7GHz 6-Core Processor ($346.89 @ OutletPC)

CPU Cooler: NZXT - Kraken X62 Rev 2 98.2 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler ($147.49 @ SuperBiiz)

Motherboard: Asus - ROG MAXIMUS X CODE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard ($298.38 @ Amazon)

Memory: G.Skill - Trident Z RGB 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 Memory ($191.99 @ Newegg)

Storage: Samsung - 960 EVO 250GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive ($119.99 @ Amazon)

Storage: Samsung - 860 Evo 1TB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($289.99 @ Amazon)

Video Card: Asus - GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB STRIX GAMING OC Video Card

Case: NZXT - S340 Elite (White) ATX Mid Tower Case ($79.99 @ Newegg)

Power Supply: EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply ($89.89 @ OutletPC)

Case Fan: NZXT - Aer RGB120 61.4 CFM 120mm Fan ($26.79 @ SuperBiiz)

Monitor: Dell - U3415W 34.0" 3440x1440 60Hz Monitor ($613.00 @ Amazon)

Keyboard: Corsair - K70 RGB Wired Gaming Keyboard

Mouse: Logitech - G900 CHAOS SPECTRUM Wireless Optical Mouse ($103.90 @ Amazon)