cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MB won't post - q code 2C

lukehall
Level 8
Hi everyone,

My Maximus Viii has been working well since new in April, until now...

Out of the blue the MB won't post, getting stuck at 2C which according to the manual is memory initialisation.
I have methodically excluded other hardware, plugins and anything I can think off to try and isolate the problem, but nothing has changed.

I have tried replacement brand new memory modules, alternative memory slots, none of which has helped. The clear cmos button didn't fix it either. I have also tried booting with all memory removed, which predictably just produced a 53 code instead!

I'm now at the stage where I'm booting it on the bench with nothing but a CPU and memory plugged in and still I just get 2C.

Is there anything else I can try before throwing it in the trash? I'm getting a bit desperate as I'm a self employed web developer working from home, and without my PC, I can't work.:(*

Thanks... Yours hopefully,

Luke*
6 REPLIES 6

AbyXzss
Level 7
Same Exact Issue and manifestatons but has a q code of 13 to my MF8 and ended up on sending it back in for RMA 😞
The link below is the exact post I made, Hope that will help any realizations or conclusions you had on your issue as to what next procedure or process you will take.

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?88625-MF8-does-not-boot-to-BIOS

JustinThyme
Level 13
lukehall wrote:
Hi everyone,

My Maximus Viii has been working well since new in April, until now...

Out of the blue the MB won't post, getting stuck at 2C which according to the manual is memory initialisation.
I have methodically excluded other hardware, plugins and anything I can think off to try and isolate the problem, but nothing has changed.