cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Excited Newbie here! What can I do to finalise my Z170 build/prep it right?

neiljwd
Level 7
Hi Guys! Been a cheap PC Gamer for over a decade, but this is my 1st time using premium products ;), and I'm obviously super excited to get going! 😄
I chose Asus as my current Build is an AMD AM3 that i've had an ASUS MB in, I've abused it terribly :eek: and it has taken it all, inspired me to go ASUS again, and went with the VIII Gene, as I think mATX is cute :o.
Build below, have every part apart from the Samsung 950 Pro m.2 via PCI-e SSD. It'll be my boot drive, so no Windows or program tweaking. 😞
What can I do while I wait to maximise my build, and save time later? Built successfully, but done nothing more. I've full access to the Bios, is there anything I should be doing in there, do I need to configure much?
Been very impressed with the diagnostics of Gene board so far, that Q-Code LED Display is amazing tbh!:p

PCPartPicker part list
CPU: Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor (Purchased For £299.96)
CPU Cooler: RAIJINTEK TRITON 100.5 CFM Sleeve Bearing Liquid CPU Cooler (£66.14)
Motherboard: Asus MAXIMUS VIII GENE Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard (Purchased For £170.31)
Memory: Kingston FURY 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2666 Memory (Purchased For £89.99)
Storage: Samsung 950 Pro 512GB M.2 Solid State Drive (319.99)
Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Video Card: Zotac GeForce GTX 970 4GB Video Card (£221.00)
Case: RAIJINTEK AENEAS MicroATX Mini Tower Case (Purchased For £60.04)
Power Supply: EVGA 500W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply (Purchased For £38.49)
9 REPLIES 9

Nate152
Hello neiljwd

I would be excited too going from an old amd pc to a new intel pc, you should see a night and day difference. There's really not a whole lot you can do until you get your operating system installed.