cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Requesting Overclocking Advice

Qwinn
Level 11
Ok, I'm brand new to overclocking... not that I wasn't aware of it, I was just always concerned about system degradation. My current rig is pretty solid, though, and over the last few months I found that I've overclocked a fair bit almost despite myself.

Please assume I'm an idiot on this stuff because, well, I am. I've read a lot but have little actual experience.

Here's all the useful information I can piece together, beyond what's in my signature:

I've used the AI Suite 3 features (which appears in BIOS as CPU Level Up) which wound up setting me at BCLK 100.0 Mhz, Ratio 44, for 4.4 Ghz. Power is set to Adaptive. Offset\Voltage is 0.075, OC Voltage 1.200, for total 1.275. There doesn't appear to be any CPU Cache overclocking at all, I believe it's running at 3 Ghz.

For my 980Ti video cards, I didn't touch the voltage, I just added +125 Mhz and 500 to the memory clock in MSI Afterburner. This is on top of the factory overclock.

The above has passed XTU and Realbench stress tests, plus several weeks of intensive Witcher 3 running on mostly ultra settings with 3D Vision at 1440p, with FPS in the 35-55 range. Crashes in Witcher 3 are infrequent and generally only when alt-tabbing back into the game.

Max temperature of the CPU during the XTU stress test was 68c. Max temperature running Witcher 3 as described is generally 81c on GPU1 and 78c on GPU2.

This would all seem to be to be fairly decent overclocking, however, when doing online compares of XTU and Realbench benchmark scores, I seem to be pretty far down the list. Oddly, some people who scored better than me with the same CPU seemed to have lower settings... one guy is 100 BCLK and only 36 ratio, the only difference I see is that he's Static where I'm Adaptive.

Now, here are my questions: