cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS GU502GV - constant Current/EDP Limit Throttling / low FPS in VR

ATLANTICA_NFS
Level 8
Hi folks,

I can't seem to find a solution / explanation for the following issues I'm experiencing on my brand-new GU502GV (RTX 2060 / i7-9750H / 16 GB RAM:

- Constant Current / EDP Limit Throttling (according to Intel XTU, no "thermal-limits" reached)
- Very low FPS in VR (both Oculus Home / Unity / SteamVR)

I've been using the GL502VMK for more than two years, was able to run VR just fine.
Now that I've spent nearly $2k for an RTX2060-based-system I'm pretty disappointed to say the least...

Is there some sort of a fix / workaround for these issues or am I the only one experiencing these limits on the GU502GV?

Already tried the following (but to no avail):
- New OS-install / Driver-updates
- BIOS-Update (307)
- BIOS-Downgrade (306)
- Disable Turbo Boost (ThrottleStop)

I'd appreciate any input / feedback.

Best regards & thanks in advance
13 REPLIES 13

cl-Albert
US Customer Loyalty Agent
ATLANTICA_NFS wrote:
I might just have found the actual bottleneck regarding VR-performance...
As the Rift S comes w/ DisplayPort (MiniDP-Adapter) only, I'm using a USB-C to DP-adapter.

Checked NVIDIA Control Panel a minute ago:

I assume the USB-C-port is "hard-wired" to the Intel-Graphics-Chipset, not the RTX 2060, hence the render-lags?
Would someone know / be able to confirm this?

Is your screenshot above showing just the notebook screen with no external monitors connected and can you check or provide another screenshot when the RIft S is connected through the type-C output?

You can also connect an external monitor through the type-C connection and check the information in the Nvidia display properties as well as Intel display properties to see which graphics chip it's connected to.