cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ROG GL704GV scar II can support Gsync monitor ?

moses0101
Level 7
I'm considering to buy a monitor, but I know the laptop that I'm using (ROG GL704GV with RTX2060) does not have Gsync...
So here's the question

If I buy a Gsync monitor, will my laptop become somehow support the Gsync ? I mean like "can use the monitor with Gsync built in" .
Still, if my laptop won't even support that monitor with Gsync, should i just go and buy a normal 4k monitor since RTX gpu is more supportive with high end resolution.

I'm new to Gsync and stuff not sure how they work well... appreciated if someone can help me out for the thing I asked ! 😄
5 REPLIES 5

brian68
Level 7
moses0101 wrote:
I'm considering to buy a monitor, but I know the laptop that I'm using (ROG GL704GV with RTX2060) does not have Gsync...
So here's the question

If I buy a Gsync monitor, will my laptop become somehow support the Gsync ? I mean like "can use the monitor with Gsync built in" .
Still, if my laptop won't even support that monitor with Gsync, should i just go and buy a normal 4k monitor since RTX gpu is more supportive with high end resolution.

I'm new to Gsync and stuff not sure how they work well... appreciated if someone can help me out for the thing I asked ! 😄

I have the GL504GV (just got this week) and is basically same laptop except yours is a 17". According to Asus website it supports G-Sync to an external monitor over the mini DisplayPort. I wonder how it would work with FreeSync now that Nvidia added support for those as well.
*https://www.asus.com/Laptops/ROG-Strix-SCAR-II/

How do you like the laptop anyways? I chose not to spend extra for the RTX 2070 because the benchmarks of RTX 2060 were very close for significantly less cost.

brian68 wrote: