cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS ROG Strix II Scar Laptop Normal Gaming Temperatures?

KhuloodF
Level 9
Hello everybody,

I am new to the world of gaming laptops and was wondering if you could help me out.

I bought the ROG Strix II Scar Laptop (GL704GW) about two weeks ago.

My current specs are:

i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz (12 CPUs)

16 GB RAM

Windows 10 Home

NVIDIA GTX 2070

I have noticed when gaming (Overwatch on Ultra settings- which it defaults to in the NVIDA GeForce Center), CPU and GPU can easily hover to 85-90C (with the fans on Turbo).

When playing BF5, it can go to 94C (CPU, GPU Hovers around 85)

I have it on a cooling pad as well as a side vent fan, and it still hits those temps easily.

Less intensive games it holds around low 80's, high 70's which isn't bad at all.

Is this a common issue- and more importantly, are there fixes?

I heard underclocking the CPU can help. I tried using Intel XTU last night to underclock -.100 V but that caused the computer to crash mid-game in Overwatch.

Any help would be appreciated. I am also VERY noviced with computers so please don't be afraid to over explain.

Thanks!!!
78 REPLIES 78

Queen6 wrote:
Here - Package Power 60W

After 28 seconds it will drop to the PL-1 limit of 45W, if TDP is reduced it will drop to 32W, on battery something like 28W etc. If TDP down is not working check that in TS FIVR Disable and lock Turbo Power Limits isn't checked as this breaks the TDP down feature.

Q-6

Thanks i will give it test :).

I deleted the TS.ini file but the box with "lock" in the TPL window is still grey and i cant uncheck it. I deinstalled TS completely but it is still checked. Any suggestions here?

Or on the other hand, what effect will that have, when i leave it like that?

Regards

mp271901 wrote:

I deleted the TS.ini file but the box with "lock" in the TPL window is still grey and i cant uncheck it. I deinstalled TS completely but it is still checked. Any suggestions here?