cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS ROG Strix II Scar Laptop Normal Gaming Temperatures?

KhuloodF
Level 9
Hello everybody,

I am new to the world of gaming laptops and was wondering if you could help me out.

I bought the ROG Strix II Scar Laptop (GL704GW) about two weeks ago.

My current specs are:

i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz (12 CPUs)

16 GB RAM

Windows 10 Home

NVIDIA GTX 2070

I have noticed when gaming (Overwatch on Ultra settings- which it defaults to in the NVIDA GeForce Center), CPU and GPU can easily hover to 85-90C (with the fans on Turbo).

When playing BF5, it can go to 94C (CPU, GPU Hovers around 85)

I have it on a cooling pad as well as a side vent fan, and it still hits those temps easily.

Less intensive games it holds around low 80's, high 70's which isn't bad at all.

Is this a common issue- and more importantly, are there fixes?

I heard underclocking the CPU can help. I tried using Intel XTU last night to underclock -.100 V but that caused the computer to crash mid-game in Overwatch.

Any help would be appreciated. I am also VERY noviced with computers so please don't be afraid to over explain.

Thanks!!!
78 REPLIES 78

KhuloodF wrote:
Alright so updates again, I think I'm happy with where I'm at for now.

BIOS 303
I used throttlestop to undervolt the CPU and CPU Cache by just under -100 mV.
I undervolted the intel GPU by -49 mV
Did not enable speed shift, left it at 128
Used GPU Tweak II to set GPU temp limit to 78.

Also am using a cooling pad propped at an angle under my laptop.

On High settings with Overwatch I can consistently run 120-ish FPS with mid-to-high 70s for hours.
If I cap the frame rate in Overwatch to 70-60ish, I can run temps in the low 70s and high 60s.
With more casual games, temps stay in mid-to-high 60s.
While browsing youtube, temps are in low 50's high 40s. Idling it sits in low 40's high 30's.

No stutter, no lag, and the computer is super zippy.