cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS ROG Strix II Scar Laptop Normal Gaming Temperatures?

KhuloodF
Level 9
Hello everybody,

I am new to the world of gaming laptops and was wondering if you could help me out.

I bought the ROG Strix II Scar Laptop (GL704GW) about two weeks ago.

My current specs are:

i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz (12 CPUs)

16 GB RAM

Windows 10 Home

NVIDIA GTX 2070

I have noticed when gaming (Overwatch on Ultra settings- which it defaults to in the NVIDA GeForce Center), CPU and GPU can easily hover to 85-90C (with the fans on Turbo).

When playing BF5, it can go to 94C (CPU, GPU Hovers around 85)

I have it on a cooling pad as well as a side vent fan, and it still hits those temps easily.

Less intensive games it holds around low 80's, high 70's which isn't bad at all.

Is this a common issue- and more importantly, are there fixes?

I heard underclocking the CPU can help. I tried using Intel XTU last night to underclock -.100 V but that caused the computer to crash mid-game in Overwatch.

Any help would be appreciated. I am also VERY noviced with computers so please don't be afraid to over explain.

Thanks!!!
78 REPLIES 78

KhuloodF wrote:
So I wanted to give an update-

Running intel XTU with a -.095 undervolt and using GPU Tweak II from ASUS with a GPU Temp limit set at 77- I've seen my performance stay in the mid-to-high 70's consistently when gaming on Overwatch on High Settings and capped frame rate at 65-70 FPS. No stutters or any other issues.
If I leave frame rates uncapped, I can hit 120+ FPS easily (phew, good ol' 2070), but temp soars back into the high 80's (but still no stutters)

If I try to push to -0.1 V I get the BSOD, so I'm pretty sure that's the limit my computer can be undervolted (sucks).

While internet browsing/youtube I sit at low 50's and high 40's.

Between Intel XTU and Throttlestop, which is better (or more stable)?