cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows 8 Preview & Experience Strategy Without Spending a Dime!

Dennis_St__John
Level 8
Hello Everyone,

If you are like me, you are anxious to take Windows 8 for a spin, but don't yet want to remove and jeapordize your existing stable Windows 7 installation! Here's how you can get the full release of Microsoft Windows 8 Enterprise OS installed on your ASUS laptop without spending a dime!

First, a little intro - I am a freelance IT professional providing related services to many small to medium sized business in my area. It's my job to be "ahead of the curve" so my clients can stay on course (not fall too far behind). That said, I likely won't be deploying Windows 8 within any of my client's businesses for at least a year (if Windows 8 doesn't turn out to be another ME or Vista type OS), but now that the new OS is out, I've really got to dive in and start learning.

Secondly, and the reason I am posting in this forum, is that I am a proud owner of an ASUS G75VW, with a slightly beefed up configuration from factory (I replaced the included 750GB 1st HDD with a hybrid Seagate 750GB SSD / HDD and moved the included 750GB drive to the second bay and re-installed from scratch. Been going on this configuration for about 3 months now. I also added another 4GB of RAM to bring the total up to 16GB.

You can probably already guess where I am heading with this thread but my recommended strategy involves setting up Windows 8 within a VM environment in my currently stable and existing Windows 7 Ultimate installation. I have a lot of programs installed that are working and don't really have time to start from scratch at the moment.

Here's what you'll need:

Windows 8 Enterprise Evaulation Edition (License will be valid for 90 days) - FREE to download from MS here:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/evalcenter/jj554510.aspx

Scroll to the bottom and click the "Get Started Now" button (I downloaded the 64 bit edition)