cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why i feel betrayed by my g750jz. And why i hate optimus.

broadleaf
Level 7
Hi guys. Im a professional 3d artist/designer and recently im a gamedeveloper.

Here are some of the problems i encountered with this laptop so far, which make my life miserable.
My main problem is that due to some circumstances im stuck with it, for maybe couple of months ahead for sure.

Why dont i start from the very beginning?

* Bought it, in retail everything looks fine. Brought home - 'W' key falls off. Just like that you press its lower part, it fells off.
No visible damage, if you press it normally you cant tell defect (just works) but once pressed lower part it jumps right off.
Bring it back to vendor - "Sorry its your fault, you broke that" in know i did not.
They want to scam me? Fat chance. Call police, lawyer, customer protection etc.
Next day they begging me to not drag them in court. Okay i don't care just give me working laptop.
Exchanged took money from them for travel time and travel expenses.

* Screen is crap, vertical lines, tho colors and response time are good, ignore that i wont look at that screen so much.

* Start mirgating my software etc, new to windows 8.
Suddenly my life becomes a miserable hunt for hacks to disable all MS horse poop and removing tons of bloatware
carefully provided by ASUS. Hacks to disable charms. To kill Edge UI, to kill Skydrive, to this to that etc.

* Dinamic brightness cant be turn off, but whatever.

* Realise i can't switch completely to Nvidia GPU.
MFW

After 2 months of suffering with all my pro software that you have to manually tweak to work properly disregarding all
optimus attempts to flip me over.
Something happens, that overrides all my registry hacks for windows, rendering months of careful tinkering flush in vain.

Install windows 7.

Realise that windows 8.1 has better performance with optimus.

Hack explorer.exe and dwm.exe to wrok on gpu.