cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Some pre-sales questions about the G751JY (first ROG)

andreacos92
Level 9
Hi!

I'm looking around to buy a new gaming laptop, and the G751JY caught my attention.
I'm Italian and I found the G751JY-T7059H in a german online store, but I have some doubts:

1 - It comes with 1x8 GB of RAM. Do you suggest to buy immediately a second stick of RAM so they work in dual channel or can I wait? Will the RAM in single-channel be a bottleneck?
I think the pre-installed stick is in one of the two slot under the keyboard (non accessible), if I put the second stick in one of the other 2 slot in the user accessible area, will they work in dual channel, right? (noob question i know lol)

2 - I have a CoolerMaster Notepal U2. Can I use it with this Asus or is the laptop too big?
Can someone misure the distance between the bottom feet? Left-to-right and front-to-rear.

3 - How can I clean vens and fans if opening the entire laptop will void the warranty?
There are some seals that will break when it's open or is it possible to do paying attention?

4 - I read about some connection issues with the stock Intel wifi card. Are there any known issues nowadays?

Thank you very much in advance 🙂
5 REPLIES 5

andreacos92
Level 9
UP :rolleyes:

Especially question 1 and 3

andreacos92 wrote:
UP :rolleyes:

Especially question 1 and 3

andreacos92

#1 - if the seller can install a 2nd SODIMM in the tough to get at top slot then yes, purchase it and pay them to install that 2nd SODIMM in the top slot.

#3 - If you are worried about dust in your environment, then add a filter screen to the bottom vent where all the air is drawn in. That will keep most of the dust out from the laptop, and you won't need to worry about disassembling the laptop to get at the fans to clean out the dust.

Laptop Dust Filters
http://www.demcifilter.com/c218/Laptop-Dust-Filters.aspx