cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ROG G703GI-XS71 - RAID Help

Naahdrekii
Level 7
(Skip to paragraph 2 for the question without context)
(Skip to paragraph 3 for simplified questions)
Context:
So I had a question regarding RAID (as referenced by the title). I am quite new to the concept on laptops capable to do RAID. My laptop has 3 slots for M.2 2280 PCIE SSD's. I currently have a 256 GB NVMe Samsung SSD (MZVPW256) in my boot slot. My two other slots are empty.

Question:
Lets hypothetically say I bought 2 NVMe SSD's and installed them into the vacant slots; Should they be identical to the boot drive? I am aware in order for RAID to work that the 2 NVMe drives I buy should be identical. Does RAID require that my boot drive that I mentioned earlier require the bought drives to be identical? I read through the manual completely and only found a diagram of how to install them. Is it possible to ONLY use 2 NVMe's (The ones I buy) in RAID? Or does all 3 NVMe drives have to be identical?

In short:
-Can my boot drive be separate and not in RAID, while the other two NVMe are in RAID?
-For my laptop's RAID to work, does it require all 3 M.2 PCIe slots be filled with the exact same identical drive?
7 REPLIES 7

jdfrench3
Level 12
There has been many discussions about the benefits of setting up a RAID configuration using NVMe SSDs. I believe it has been determined that it wasn't worth the trouble, that the speed advantage is limited due to CPU bandwidth. Search this forum for this information.

Your first two ASUS G703 m.2 NVMe slots can be easily made into a RAID. The third ASUS G703 m.2 NVMe slot uses a different bandwidth path and might pose a problem. Not impossible but perhaps troublesome.

When creating RAID storage it is highly recommended you use identical storage devices (manufacturer, size, speed, even like age).

Read up (Google the heck out of) RAID configurations.