cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

power connector pin broke on my G53jw

Retired
Not applicable
Where the cable plugs into the laptop, the central pin in the jack broke off into the power cord... now, I cannot charge (or use) my computer.

I am wondering if others have seen this problem.
What can I do to fix this?
367 REPLIES 367

i saw how he connected it but I am not a professional when it comes to this. Can you tell me specfically where the red wire and the black wire is connected?

gelo.aa26 wrote:
I am not a professional when it comes to this.

That's why you contract the repair out to a qualified local computer repair shop. At least you can show them where to get the proper connector pin.
G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

Zygomorphic wrote:
Yes, definitely something to consider if you or someone you know is really handy with a soldering gun. The power connector pin is pretty fragile unless you have the newer hexagonal pin design. For some reason, the hexagon pins aren't breaking.

Damn straight ! :3
Asus G53sw-A1
Intel i7 2630qm
Memory 8 GB
Nvidia GeForce GTX 460m 1.5 GB
Windows 7 Premium
1 TB HDD @ 7200 rpm
4x Blu-Ray
Razer Mamba, Razer Abysus, Rog Gaming Mouse.

FPS GAMER.

@apalenschat

Really? ... I've been an Asus customer for years now. all I buy is Asus all I'll ever buy is Asus. Laptops, boards, etc. I have an Asus G74SX-DH71 I bought for about 1750 USD in Feb 2012. I have NEVER had any issues with the power connector. The FIRST THING I DID was buy the L connector and it cost me a whopping 3 or 4 bucks and there is absolutely NO STRAIN on the connector. I use the laptop every day, i tote it to and from work every single day. I also use the laptop in our data center for diagnostics among other things so this unit is heavily used. MY POWER CONNECTOR IS NOT BROKEN EITHER.