cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New G75 owner - Antivirus/Malware choices

ChoaticRobotic
Level 7
Hello,

I'm new to ROG Forum, been lurking for a few weeks. I've had a macbook pro for 6 years and I'm now switching to a G75. Being a mac user has not made me ignorant to Windows, I actually use Windows a lot for school (I want to be a Game Dev). But at school the computers run deep freeze, so I have no experience with antivirus software. So what do you use? Should I buy software or is the free stuff just as good? Would you recommend using more than one, like two or three?

Thanks!
24 REPLIES 24

soulctcher
Level 9
There are a number of choices out there, but one thing is certain, you'll want a combination of products. Personally, I use Avast and MalwareBytes on my machines...have for years. They're both free and do the job well. Others will have their preferences as well, and I'm sure they're just as valid.

soulctcher wrote:
There are a number of choices out there, but one thing is certain, you'll want a combination of products. Personally, I use Avast and MalwareBytes on my machines...have for years. They're both free and do the job well. Others will have their preferences as well, and I'm sure they're just as valid.

+1 for this combo.

I've used this combo for years and Have given it to everyone I know who want a free solution, never an issue.

desailly
Level 7
i use a free avira antivirus ... it has occasional pop ups but its still free and nevertheless pretty good to use IMHO

desailly wrote:
i use a free avira antivirus ... it has occasional pop ups but its still free and nevertheless pretty good to use IMHO

Same here. For a light user it is a anti virus wich is good and uses hardly no resourses. Have been happy with this for a few years now 🙂
Asus G75VW-T1031V
Intel Core i7-3610QM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 670M
8 GB 1600mhz
HDD#1 -> SSD OCZ Agility3 240gb
HDD#2 -> 750gb HDD 7200rpm