cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My New G750JW-RB71-CB

Dat_Wax_Dab
Level 7
Hey all,

Im rather new to gaming computers, I've pretty much always left everything the way it comes out of the box. At the end of the day I'd really like to make the most out of my purchase and have my new gear running at its finest.
I may be green when it comes to technical terms but I do know how to use google and am prepared to do a lot of reading.

So with that any advice would be greatly appreciated.
I purchased a G750JW-RB71-CB
Link to site with all tech specs is below.
http://www.futureshop.ca/en-ca/product/asus-asus-republic-of-gaming-17-3-gaming-laptop-black-intel-c...

I'm just curious what all I should do first,

I've been told I should set up RAID, I'll do some searching on that topic but any advice from some of you vets would be great.

I've been warned about upgrading my memory, currently running 16gb (2 - 8gb with 2 available slots) that I need to be sure its 1.35 and not 1.5 For this im not too worried at this exact moment, 16gb is enough for now, unless you guys think that should be one of my first purchases. I've been pricing another 2 - 8gb sticks would be around the 200$ CAD range. Which is not the end of the world, so maybe its worth doing now.

Backing up, I've heard of numerous ways of doing so. Am I better off cloning my hard drive or using the asus backup utility?

Updating my drivers, I want to have my laptop running at its best, so I'm just curious if there's any driver updates that I should avoid, or am I safe just updating everything off the asus g750 support page?

I've also heard splendid has been causing display issues, mainly lines appearing on the display, I've yet to experience this issue but should I just remove it to be on the safe side?