cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G751JY Cannot restore to factory state

deccauk
Level 7
I updated my G751JY to windows 10, but before I did I took an image of the windows 8.1 C drive using Acronis True Image 2014.

After ensuring everything was working OK, I took an image of the Windows 10 system, and then restored the windows 8.1 just to check that I could go back to it if necessary.

The machine would not boot to windows - it entered the dreaded "Preparing Automatic Repair" which failed, giving the message "Automatic Repair couldn't repair your PC"

OK - this was a challenge - I'm an IT pro, with many years experience of troubleshooting computers and sorting out PC software issues. This should be easy enough to sort out.

Big fail - after two days solid effort (I'm retired fortunately!) and trying numerous options many times over, I got nowhere. Even formatting the C drive and trying to install windows 8.1 from a DVD failed with the "cannot install windows to a drive with the GPT partition type".

Doing a refresh or a reset from the recovery partition always failed too. Neither could I find any way to make a recovery DVD - is it even possible I wonder?

Fortunately restoring my windows 10 image works fine so I can always get my machine back to that state, but I am absolutely perplexed as to why the windows 8 image won't restore. It can be verified by Acronis as being not corrupt.

I was like a dog with a bone by now, but this problem eventually wore me down and I've come to a grinding halt. It's as though the windows 10 upgrade has done something very subtle to prevent the machine running windows 8.1.
11 REPLIES 11

Corporal
Level 9
Big fail - after two days solid effort (I'm retired fortunately!) and trying numerous options many times over, I got nowhere. Even formatting the C drive and trying to install windows 8.1 from a DVD failed with the "cannot install windows to a drive with the GPT partition type".