cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G73jh Dead?

Retired
Not applicable
I have a G73jh laptop and it refuses to turn on and every time I plug the charger in the light on the charger turns off.

It happened when I left it on all night, like I did many nights without problem, and when I woke up there was a bad smell in the air like burning plastic. I tried getting a new charger but it did the same thing with the new charger.

My problem is that I bought the laptop at best buy in the United States and I am now in Canada for school. When I went to the best buy here in Canada I was informed that they would not honor my warranty from the states and my one year warranty from best buy expires in a week, so i can't just send it back to my family and get it fixed where I bought it.

My questions are what happened to my computer and how can I go about getting it fixed. Also as a college student I don't have much cash to get it fixed at an independent shop here if it's a major problem. This is my school computer so i need it fixed as quickly as possible.
4 REPLIES 4

BrodyBoy
Level 10
Regardless whether Best Buy is willing to help, you are still covered by the Asus Global Warranty:

International Warranty and support

Your ASUS Product will be covered by international ASUS service for the duration of the Warranty (the Product purchase receipt or other proof of purchase may be required).

To enjoy the comprehensive international warranty service, visit ASUS Service Center website at http://support.asus.com/contact for detailed locations (In American area only supports USA, Canada and Mexico).

The International Warranty only covers failures or malfunctions that occur during the warranty period and under normal use condition, as well as any material or workmanship defects. The warranty will not apply to the items listed in “Exclusion from this Limited Warranty Service.”