cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G60J Power Issues and BOSDs

Skoop
Level 7
Hello ROG forums,

I wouldn't exactly say I'm new to ASUS but I am new to the ROG forum.

Now I have a G60J that I got awhile back I'd say its been about 3 years more or less and it has been my trusty portable desktop essentially. except for one problem, I have been plagued by BOSDs since day one. I was able to fix my problems by updating the BIOS to 208 and that fixed a majority of problems from the get go but other things came up and a system reformat fixed everything up.

Now the BOSDs are back and this time its that dreaded nvlddmkm.sys error and I have tired everything I can to fix it but nothing has worked.

Until I remembered a thread I read awhile ago about said issues, the guy wrote that on battery he was solid but on AC mode it would crash

So I tried it and its as if the gods shined on me and everything worked. I thought it was a fluke so I plugged it back in while gaming and sure enough I got that nvlddmkm.sys BOSD. Im thinking its just my PSU so I tried this Toshiba PSU that a friend of mine uses on his G51j and it actually worked for a bit then crashed again.

So it seems on AC mode my GPU and other such devices don't get the power they need or something among those lines and on battery mode it gets everything it needs and runs smoothy giving me no problems until the battery runs dry.

Surely there has to be something to this but I can't figure it out, ASUS just wants me to send it back but I can't really do that seeing as this is my only machine at the moment.
11 REPLIES 11

Pitcher1
Level 9
are you sure it is HW problem, do you try install new NVIDIA driver? if it is hw problem, i think you should send back.

I have tried just about every driver I can remember that was stable for me.