cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Car charger for G751 ???

canvasch
Level 7
I'm ready to purchase a G751 but the only draw back I have is that I can't seem to find a car charger or a inverter I can use in the car to charge it.
I travel for a living and rarely have access to a outlet.
I am not able to use a car inverter that is required to be hooked up directly to the battery, I'm only able to use the standard cigarette adapter.

Will I have to get a less powerful laptop or is there a solution for me?
7 REPLIES 7

wildtiger
Level 7
Hi , Canvasch, I got myself this http://www.amazon.com/ENERGIZER-Inverter-cigarette-lighter-compatible/dp/B00ATXERNO/ref=zg_bs_583328...
. Was able to charge laptop ,phone and keep GPS at the same time with no issues!

juggar
Level 7
canvasch wrote:
I'm ready to purchase a G751 but the only draw back I have is that I can't seem to find a car charger or a inverter I can use in the car to charge it.
I travel for a living and rarely have access to a outlet.
I am not able to use a car inverter that is required to be hooked up directly to the battery, I'm only able to use the standard cigarette adapter.

Will I have to get a less powerful laptop or is there a solution for me?

You need an inverter for sure like the other poster recommended.

You also need to make sure your 12 volt car port can handle the power draw of the G751 at full draw.

I know most cars cant handle more than a 200 watt 120 volt DC to AC inverter from the 12 v cig lighter port.

Above that you should be connecting the inverter straight to the battery lest you blow a fuse or worse.

You should be OK to connect to the 12v port on your car but you need to know the amperage of your cig lighter fuse before going full tilt on the G751.

GhostriderZ85
Level 7
Yup, you better check what is the max power that the cigarette ligher can provide, or just tap it directly to your car battery for safety, make sure to use an inline fuse though.

Ntwlf
Level 12