cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asus G55 or G75 for College Student? HELP!

themailman05
Level 7
Hi folks, this is my first time on this forum.

I'm a high school senior about to graduate and head off to college to study engineering at a pretty big school.

I've been building and repairing gaming desktops for 3 years now, but I've yet to have any experience with gaming laptops. I currently am using a Lenovo X61 ultraportable that I Frankensteined together on the cheap, but it just will not cut it for school.

I am looking into buying a powerful desktop replacement machine that will be fairly portable for the next few years. The machine that really caught my eye is the Asus G55.

So I guess my question is this-
Asus G53/G55 owners, how portable is your machine? Is it a little ridiculous to carry around everywhere? I love the thermal design of the G55, and I am drooling over the internals. Is the battery life marginally acceptable? I would just like more than 3 hours under light load...

I have seen the G75, and it just seems WAY too large for what I want.
Money is not really a problem, as I've saved up quite a bit in order to make a purchase SOON!

EDIT: That new N56 series looks pretty incredible. Any experience with these as well?
22 REPLIES 22

fuzon1337
Level 10
Hi and Welcome to the ROG community! 😄

You don't get any better notebooks with the cooling system Asus has provided in these beasts! I love the G73sw and am very satisfied with ît ^^

I assume that the portability of the G55 is much better then the G73, and doesn't weight so much.

One con thing about the G53 series is that the power pin that is soldered on the motherboard easly breaks off, so perhaps that issue have been fixed on the G55 🙂

Also it can be more difficult to insert the second HDD/SSD in that notebook:
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?14137-Upgrading-the-G55VW&country=&status=