cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asus G46 keyboard/screen not responding.

Brodidily
Level 7
Hello all, this is my first time requesting support here. I recently upgraded the drive on my Asus G46 to an SSD, I watched an instructional video for disassembly and added an SSD that I had cloned from the on-board HDD. I plugged the SSD into the SATA connector and powered the laptop on before snapping the keyboard back into place to ensure I had gotten it connected properly. Everything appeared to be fine so I proceeded to put the laptop back together. While doing so, the connector for the speaker component that also covers the screen hatches came off and I wasn't able to reconnect it, I powered the laptop back on to check and see if it had affected anything else - but it was just the speaker so I powered the laptop back off and continued to reassemble.
After I finished reassembly I pushed the power button and the power lights came on, but this time the screen did not. I tried plugging a monitor in through both the VGA and HDMI ports but did not get any signal, the BIOS screen did not even come up. I then realized that even pushing the power button did nothing at this point. I disassembled the laptop again and checked to ensure everything was connected the way it should be. I noticed the cooling fans were not spinning while the power was stuck on, so I disconnected the power (the power wires run over the drive bay, so I had to disconnect them once before) to prevent any overheating. I tried disconnecting and reconnecting several wires which did not change anything. I can provide screen shots of the laptop's inside later today for a better look - but perhaps someone has an idea in the mean time as to what could have caused this to happen? Any input is appreciated.
5 REPLIES 5

Pitcher1
Level 9
you just change HDD, why you need dismantle others?