cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ROG G20 Overhaul

Urzu_7
Level 7
So I just got a G20 and I decided to replace the stock 760 with a 980, add an SSD and upgrade the HDD. The GPU was tricky but I managed however, 43904it looks like adding the SSD and replacing the HDD is near impossible. And tips?
260 REPLIES 260

Jerbs
Level 7
Hey all, toronto699 was gracious enough to provide a link to this thread (thank you, sir!).

Turns out my unit doesn't come with an SSD (it has a 2TB HDD, instead of the 1TB + 8GB SSD combo). So, I guess I should add my own SSD! The unit came with an SSD cable, so the option to add one must be there, right? 🙂 I've built numerous PCs in the past, but this is the first time 'tinkering' with a pre-built PC.

So, I was thinking to add a 256GB SSD as my primary drive (OS and main programs/games I use) and then have the HDD as a storage drive for archiving and programs I don't run all that often.

I'm still relatively new to the SSD scene and this would be my 2nd machine to use SSD (my old rig had 2x 60GB SSD drives in a RAID setup). So focusing on the G20; incoming "newb" questions:
- what is a suggested brand/model (I'll most likely be going to www.frys.com )?
- any brands/models I should absolutely stay away from?
- any tips/suggestions for a first timer like myself? (e.g. I believe I need to create an image of the OS, as there is no disc supplied)

Many thanks in advance!

Urzu_7
Level 7
Attention to all who follow this thread, I'll be taking a two week vacation starting today. Although the amount of time I spend on this thread to help others with their G 20s will be limited, please feel free to send me a private message. I want to try and check on this thread from time to time as well to assist those who have problems.