cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Corsair RAM speed issues on GL12CM

TheFifthPillarM
Level 7
Hi there,

I recently decided to upgrade a my ram with 16gb of corsair vengeance rgb pro clocked at 3000mhz but unfortunately the ram only clocks at 2133Mhz.

I've tried searching for an xmp profile in the bios but couldnt find one there so I tried updating the bios to see if it would appear then but still no such option has appeared.

My PC is an ROG Strix GL12CM with a motherboard with the same name.

Please ask me for any more details but would love some help on this as I'm still fairly new at stuff like this.
5 REPLIES 5

cl-Albert
US Customer Loyalty Agent
Welcome to the forums!

Unfortunately, it doesn't appear the GL12CM supports XMP, so you might consider exchanging or getting a refund for your memory if necessary, but also sounds like it may not be compatible with your other memory or maybe the system.

If you remove the 16gb of Corsair Vengance RGB Pro memory, does the original memory show the correct speed at least and have you tried running the Corsair memory by itself to see if that makes any diference?

Unfortunately, we don't normally approve many upgrades for these systems sold complete, so hopefully other members can share their experiences to give us a better idea.

Hi thanks for getting back to me.

I did try what you said with running only the corsair ram but it still only clocks at 2133Mhz. Oddly enough the bios does show that the ram has xmp revision 2.0 but nowhere to enable it.The original ram also would clock at 2666Mhz when it was installed by itself too.

Im guessing the only solutiin would be to get a new motherboard that can use xmp profiles. Any suggestions?

Once again thanks

cl-Albert
US Customer Loyalty Agent
TheFifthPillarMan wrote: