cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Brand new defective x571gt very bad experience with ASUS

N8LBV
Level 7
TLDR; BAD Laptop Asus has not fixed in 7 months.
Will not power up properly only keyboard lights come on and nothing else.

My primary reason for posting this here is that I cannot find anything else about this on this specific model and I am wondering if anyone
else has the same problem with the same laptop.
Maybe this will be helpful.

----

I'm in the middle of a nightmare with ASUS.

I am a very experienced computer technician.

On my recommendation I had a client of mine purchase a brand new x571gt Laptop computer and the end of Jan. 2019.
When It arrived I did a couple of quick checks on it to make sure it powered up and passed a few basic tests and put it away.

One month later my client was ready for it and I began the process of setting it all up for them.
I drove it over to them in my car and when I got there it would not power up properly.
Only the keyboard would light up. no display backlight no actual bootup and no capslock light activity.
Dead except for the keyboard backlight.

From that tried about everything and could only determine it was a defective unit.

Sometimes it will power up properly but very rarely and only if in a very warm room/environment.
Trying to power it up in a "cold" room (50 degrees F) made the problem show up the first time.

Spent a large time on the phone with ASUS explaining the problem also send them PAGES of what I had tested to determine that the unit is bad.

Got an RMA and sent it out to ASUS.
Waited almost two months for ASUS, they sent me multiple updates stating that the laptop needed replacement parts due to covid they cannot get the parts
for an extended period of time and to be patient.