cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Weird OC problem with 6700k and asus z170-a

Ipso
Level 7
Hi,

I'm rather new to OCing but I think I have the basics down and succeeded at a modest OC, but then it started acting strange, which is why I'm asking if someone might know what's going on and what can be done.

First a sidenote, the first mobo I got acted up (dimm slot 1 stopped working after a week) so I returned it and have a new one now. I tried swapping dims in different slots in the old one and the dimms seemed to work, it was whenever slot 1 was populated it refused to boot with dim-warning-light lit. So I don't think that matters but thought I'd mention it in case.

The rig:

CPU: Intel I7 6700k
Cooling: Kraken x60 with fans swapped for Noctua NF-A14 PWM
Mobo: Asus Z170-A (Aisuite 3 and BIOS updated to latest version from their site, aisuite from late august, bios v 1003)
Mem: Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 QC 32GB
PSU: Corsair AX760 760W
Graphics: GB AMD 280X 3GB

Let me know if you need any other info!

So what happened...

I aimed for 4.6 ghz with seemed what most can achieve at least, and it was pretty easy, I don't quite understand the adaptive/offset mode parameters, so I went for manual mode with 4.6GHz@1.35V and XMP for the RAM. With was fine at least for 20 min of Prime 95 torture, and a few hours of surf/gaming etc for about a week. (Those settings worked at the first mobo as well).

Then suddenly yesterday while I left it idling in win 10 for a couple of hours, when I returned, it hanged, and when booting the problems started: Almost any OC seems to not work mostly at boot, but if boot works, it mostly works afterwards. I now run at stock CPU and JEDEC 2100mhz for ram just to get it somewhat stable, and even so it got a weird bs after an hour or so yesterday.

So what I've tried
- After trying some minor changes and failing, I updated the BIOS successfully - no change, still oc problems