cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unknown Temps huge spike

WCPredator
Level 7
SOLVED: VRM Spread Spectrum had been disabled for some reason in ALL my OC profiles.. now those mystery temps are ice cold (<50c lol). So the 129c was real !!!!!!!

I've been using the same profiles for a few years now and have always dismissed some egg cooking temps as errors. Today I was using optimized BIOS defualts to check something and I noticed those "error" temps were in the normal range. Strange thing is that my normal profile settings are just a Vcore undervolt with leds off..
Optimized default (Concerning Temperatures are #3,#4 and $6)
Undervolt
68320 68321
24 REPLIES 24

Korth
Level 14
M7H Z97/i7-4790K. It's a 3 year old system. Motherboard, CPU, and PSU are at end of warranty. CR2032 battery will probably die soon.

I think your TIM might be cooking off, a couple of extremely high temps. When's the last time you pasted the heatsinks?
"All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

[/Korth]

WCPredator
Level 7
HeatsinkS plural? Other than the CPU cooler I'm not aware of any heatsinks I should be messing with. These temps have been standard since the beginning, I've just always assumed that they were erroneous readings. I can't even figure out what they are measuring.

Nate152
Hey WCPredator

Wow, yeah it's reporting way high cpu temps and if your pc isn't shutting down, I would think they are inaccurate readings.

Try using HWInfo and see if there is any temp difference, run only that program, do not open cpu-z or HWmonitor.

HWinfo - Native 64 bit

https://www.hwinfo.com/download.php

Hi Nate152, long time 🙂