cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unknown Temps huge spike

WCPredator
Level 7
SOLVED: VRM Spread Spectrum had been disabled for some reason in ALL my OC profiles.. now those mystery temps are ice cold (<50c lol). So the 129c was real !!!!!!!

I've been using the same profiles for a few years now and have always dismissed some egg cooking temps as errors. Today I was using optimized BIOS defualts to check something and I noticed those "error" temps were in the normal range. Strange thing is that my normal profile settings are just a Vcore undervolt with leds off..
Optimized default (Concerning Temperatures are #3,#4 and $6)
Undervolt
68320 68321
24 REPLIES 24

MoKiChU wrote:
Hi WCPredator,

Can you try to disable the ASUS MultiCore Enhancement option in the BIOS then look at the temperatures ? This option puts the 4790k to a hard test ...

Um sure? Just disabling the option pushes the 4790k or stress testing without it?

WCPredator wrote:
Um sure? Just disabling the option pushes the 4790k or stress testing without it?

Yes, can you stress testing without ASUS MultiCore Enhancement option

Nate152

Ah thanks man, but i did it the stupid guy way where i just started the install program for the driver i used and looked before actual install started lol, it was the original! New one makes no difference anyway, however, I have a feeling that increase is from anti-surge being enabled by me whereas it's disabled in defaults for some reason. Check in a bit, fedex just dropped off the card - which covers most of that plastic part, the chipset i guess...

Edit** that's the bios version not chipset 😛

Nate152
My bad

To see the chipset driver

Open Device Manager
Click system devices
For me - right click Intel(R) SMBUS - A2A3 and click properties
Click the driver tab
Driver version is the chipset driver