cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Strix-A D4 Memory Issues?

vulcan78
Level 9
(Also posted in Z690 and Build Advice sub-forums, posting here as this pertains to memory overclocking stability)

Edit: As an update, having further scrutinized the QVL I did find much better 4x8 sticks with much lower timings and latency. I managed to grab one of the few remaining Royal heat-spread variants of this memory on ebay and will return my order of the original memory as I have yet to open the packaging and am within the return window. I'm still concerned that this may not work even at the stated XMP speed:

I ordered: https://www.gskill.com/specification/165/299/1580449585/F4-4000C15Q-32GTRS-Specification

Which is the Royal heat-spreader version of: https://www.gskill.com/specification/165/166/1580378326/F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR-Specification which is on the QVL. I'm still relatively new to this and haven't upgraded in a while, I'm assuming that although the Royal variant is not on the QVL that it is the same memory as the latter listed here (going by timings, voltage etc.) just with Royal heat-spreaders. I have more confidence in this kit as it's a 4 stick matched kit whereas previously I was going to try to run two separate 2x8 kits that were not matched.

Anyhow, I am concerned with how successful I will be trying to run them at 4000 MHz XMP as it seems most Strix A D4 owners here are struggling to get their system to boot above 3800 MHz, (but much tighter timings). And if things are stable I intend to try to boot with 4 sticks, even though 4 sticks of these particular dimms aren't on the QVL.

I managed to find BIOS 0707 here, should I flash to that before proceeding with the mobo and CPU swap? Also, is there any reason 0707 is not officially available yet?