cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rampage IV Extreme and OCZ SSDs

Reethax
Level 7
So yesterday I received my 512gb SSD, backed up my OS from my failing WD caviar black to restore onto the SSD. However when I plug the SSD in, it won't show up in the BIOS. No matter what settings I change, it just doesn't show up.

I've changed all the power leads, sata connectors, ports on the mainboard, even plugged it into the cables that my existing mechanical drive were using, updated the BIOS to the newest version on the website (2003) - all to no avail.

I had a look around the forums and it seems there is an issue with the RAMPAGE IV EXTREME board and SSDs?

The SSD I'm trying to use is an OCZ Vertex 4 512GB SATA3 drive. I'm going to take it to work and try it in one of our stock PCs (I'm an IT tech) and see if it's the drive, but I'm pretty sure it's a fault with the mainboard.
6 REPLIES 6

Arniebomba
Level 9
Tried hooking it up to another PC? No corrupt controller?
I didnt have any problems with my R4E and OCZ ssd's at all..

Jim-M4EZ
Level 7
What's it looking like in Computer / Computer Management / Disc Management ...
- M4EZ - 1: 3510 - 2: 1004 / i7-2600K / Redline 2133 16GB / Win7 Pro x64
- v.3510 / 8.0.0.1351 - v.8.1.0.1263 / 10.8.0.1303 - v.11.2.0.1006
- RevoDrive3x2 240GB - OS / Vector 256GB x2 RAID0 - OS / Vertex3 MI 120GB - OS / P'9230 3.0 2TB - B/U
- 9260-8i BBU - CacheCade Pro Vertex3 120GBx2 RAID0 SSD Caching - Const ES SAS RAID10 GHS - Data
- GTX580 3GB HC2 / Xonar Essence STX / ST1200G / TJ10B-W / ZR30w / SP 2500 2.1
- Water: Swiftech/Koolance/Tygon/EVGA/MIPS - Wind: SST/Noctua/Cougar

Retired
Not applicable
If u switch connectors and cables, more than enough, it get messed up in there, and it will find nothing in the end........

u confusing win, and some other things, by doing that..

ocz vertex 3 work extremely well with rampage, and is rock solid.. If installed properly..