cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RAM not at the proper speed & system won't OC.

advent
Level 7
OK so I am totally new to the whole ROG motherboard scene and I've read most of the documents including the manual, the starer on this site and a few other things.

My issue(s) are the following:

My RAM is Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 4 x 4 GB. It shows up @ 1333 MHz and when I set the BIOS to XMP and the RAM TO 1866 MHz it says the OC failed. Should I be setting that to manual and then 1866 Mhz?

Also my CPU doesn't seem to want to OC via the "stock" profiles. It is an i7 3930K. This CPU has been overclocked before in my friends machine (was a hand me down processor). He had it OC'd up until he gave it to me so it isn't a bad CPU I just don't think I am doing something right.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
11 REPLIES 11

Chino
Level 15

Chino wrote:
Welcome to the ROG forums, advent.

Try setting up your RAM manually instead of using XMP.

That seemed to fix that issue. Any thoughts on how/where I should start with overclocking? I'm running an H100i cooler so I should in theory be able to do 4.5 GHz safely as long as I don't exceed 1.4 V.

advent wrote:
That seemed to fix that issue. Any thoughts on how/where I should start with overclocking? I'm running an H100i cooler so I should in theory be able to do 4.5 GHz safely as long as I don't exceed 1.4 V.

There have been some reports of compatibility issues with the Ballistix Tactical Tracer modules and certain X79 motherboards. So XMP doesn't always work as it should, so doing it manually is the way to go.

Well I guess there is something else going on. Had the system stable @ 1866 MHz on the RAM. All 4 sticks (16 GB populated). Restarted the machine says OC failed press F2. Went back in, set everything to default and restarted. Go into BIOS shows RAM speed of 0 MHz, boot into Windows 8 and it shows 8 GB out of 16 GB.