OC for i9 9900k

poney1991
Level 7
Hey I bought a new system and I am not a pro at OC my system is

i9 9900k with a STRIX Z390E
RTX 2080 super
16GB 3200 Mhz
PSU 750 watts

I followed a totorial witch made me set LLC on 5 and 140 percent of somthing that has to do with the power the CPU draws. At the moment I have a stable OC @ 5.1GHZ core voltage 1.30v with max temps of 80-83 degrees in Cinebench R20. I can get a stable OC at 5.2 GHZ at 1.37v with max temps in cinebench around 87. I have CPU cache at 46

I read some people saying safe voltage is 1.35 others 1.40, so I take 1.35 I guess? Can I keep the 140 percent power draw 24/7? Also should I keep it on llc5 or switch to 6? I mean is 6 maybe even more stable then 5 we never know. Last question is it normal if I oc my GPU RTX 2080 Super and my CPU to 5.1 GHz that I only gain 6 fps in game but have a lower min FPS and hight AVG fps?

Thanks

Edit: I tried to set level 6 instead of 5 but everything is way hotter I hit 91 degrees at 5.2 1.34v and 82 at 1.30v for 5.1GHz, so I am confused now level 6 makes my system more stable or is it useless for me because it only makes things hotter? Set it again on level 5 stable oc @ 5.1 and 1.30v

So the system is stable Under R20 cinebench and 4-6 hours gaming on GTA V and Warzone. Now I am confused I installed R15 cinebench and it keeps on crashing I had to bump to Level 6 llc and 1.32v to get it stable so 0.3v more from R20 to R15
7 REPLIES 7

Carlyle2020
Level 10
R20 has been designed to be more stressful. Look at the time it takes to finish compared to R15.

So i can safely bet that you accidentally changed more than just the vcore value between runs .

You seem to be an overclocker living on the youtube fastlane.
Follwoing instructions and cutting corners by not researching the changed values is tricky business at best.

Since your data is inconclusive you will have to do the test again under more controlled cicumstances please.

Let us know how the second runs end.