cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie To New System builds / Old ASUS PK5lAM - SE User

Neroztatek
Level 7
Well im new to online gaming.

I have a old RIG that i got back in 2008.
A ASUS PK5PL-AM SE , Vista 64bit 4GB onboard , Intel E5300 @ 2.6Ghz Dual Core Overclocked to 3.3 Ghz and only thing updated since original RIG is a newer but still standard cooling FAN Case and a NVIDIA Geforce GT 640 1GB GDDR5 Graphics card.

I have a Fiber Optic broadband connection standard 80/20 MB/sec. A HD TV used as a monitor secondary and a hannstar HW191 monitor as standard first display.

I was looking at the newer rigs and so much to choose from and rather confusing on what is better than the other.

Site of ones i had a quick look at are https://www.cyberpowersystem.co.uk/

Now i need some advise here on what would be a GOOD / AVERAGE gaming machine that is not going to cost me the world.

Now i know this is a matter of opinion but any advise is welcome.

Looked at various types of makes but i am not up to date on technology now. Used PC's since 1980 and was in constant use since then and worked from 1986 to 2007 as a software programmer/analyst and self taught hardware engineer. So i know how fast technology changes and how much it has changed since my first PC ZX81 , + 16K expansion pack (showing my age now).

So first thing i see various makes Intel , AMD , Zues (Zues is new to me) and each one has progressed so much. I dont know if my ASUS GT 640 1GB Gddr5 can be kept and linked as a secondary card or not. As i have a older card than can go back in the old Rig which is mainly used for business work as it is.